top of page

Modelling Madness!

Hey Everyone!

I'm reigniting my love of all things sugary by starting off with modelling. Not the posing in front of a camera kind (although I have the cheekbones for it I don't have the stamina lol) the making things out of sugar paste kind! So let's begin with the adorable owl. Following the instructions given by the lovely Brenda Walton, I was able to make two lovely owls which are pictured below...

First, I made a textured base. This is something I've never really played around with before. I have added texture to the board around a cake, but never really thought about stamping or embossing designs before. It was a fun technique that I have a feeling I'll be doing more often (Especially when i get back to cakes).

I made my owl so that it was looking at something close by. Then I had to decide what it would be looking at. This was tricky, but after a while it came to me. And also made me hungry! It HAD to be a giant cupcake.

The finishing touches to this cute owl topper include bunting (with the word YUM on it, of course) and some sugar pearls!

The second owl I made was small, cute and brown. Sadly i didn't take any pictures of the owl in progress, but I did manage to get a half decent shot of the completed piece which you can see below....

This one has bunting again, but in a different style. I also swapped the cupcake for a regular layer cake with lots of icing dripping from the top, topped with a lit candle. The colour scheme has also had a make-over and the base this time is wood (well as close as I could get it anyway).

I have had so much fun making these owls that i'm going to have a bash at making some more animals to share with you lovely lot.

Thanks for visiting and have a great day x

Nicky

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page